Six Islands of the Bazaruto Archipelago


These six islands are located near the mainland city of Vilankulo in Mozambique, namely Bazaruto, Benguerra, Magaruque, Banque, Santa Carolina (or Paradise Island) and Shell island. The islands were formed when Sand was deposited by the Save River, but the river has since shifted its course.

Some of the attractions on these islands include sandy beaches, snorkelling in the coral reefs, surfing, fishing, horse riding, diving and luxury accommodation.

Bazaruto is the largest island, with sandy beaches and clear waters.

Benguerra is the second largest, which broke away thousands of years ago.

Magaruque is the third largest and is 8km by boat from Vilankulo harbor. It is an exclusive private island with a deep water channel that flows freely along the island.

Santa Carolina is at the mouth of the Limpopo River and is mostly rocky with deep channels and coral reefs. Also named Paradise Island, it is considered to be the ‘gem’ of the six islands.

Tours to Mozambique

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Check Availability

Check availability for this tour and we'll get right back to you!
  • Please enter your number below.

  • A very few portion of our tours have age restrictions so we like to make sure that you're eligible before we can start helping plan your adventure!
  • Feel free to ask us anything! We can advise on breathtaking scenery, colourful cultures, local cuisine and of course, amazing wildlife!
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Hold my seat for 48 hours