Home / Destinations / Malawi


Officially known as the Republic of Malawi, Malawi is a landlocked country located in southeast Africa that was once referred to as ‘Nyasaland’. In the northwest it is bordered by Zambia, to the northeast by Tanzania, and on the east, south and west by Mozambique. The region is separated from Tanzania and Mozambique by the magnificent Lake Malawi. The country covers more than 188,000 square kilometres with a population of almost 15 million. The capital of Malawi is Lilongwe, which is also the country’s biggest city, with the second and third largest being Blantyre and Mzuzu respectively. ‘Malawi’ is derived from the Maravi, an old name for the Nyanja folk who dwell in this region. The country is also known as ‘the warm heart of Africa’.

About admin

Article by: admin
on December 4, 2012
Filed under  Africa Blog • Destinations • Malawi 
African Overland Tours Experts
  • First-hand experience
  • Advice and guidance
  • We're passionate travelers

Enquire Now


Top 5 Backpackers in Cape Town

Top 5 Backpackers in Cape Town

Updated in 2023 In such a big city like Cape Town finding a place to stay is not that hard, but finding a great place to stay when you have a tight budget might be a bit harder. And for exactly that...

How to get Cheap Flights with Google Flights Hack

How to get Cheap Flights with Google Flights Hack

We have been using this hack for a while now and testing out if it can truly save money and the answer is definitely YES. To use Google Flights effectively and take advantage of its features, you...


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Previous Article

Next Article